EU Members States Adopt the Unitary Patent Court System
News    ·   01-03-2013

AUTHOR: Sharon Azzopardi, Nicholas Trapani Galea Feriol

On 19 February 2013, 24 EU Member States, including Malta, but excluding Poland and Spain, ratified an international agreement to implement the EU unitary patent court system. The court shall be seated in London, Paris and Munich. The unified patent court system shall be used for resolving disputes relating to the validity and infringement of new unitary patents. A unified patent regime was earlier applauded by EU Member States as a simpler method to defend a patent across Europe. Officials hope that the first unitary patents will be granted as early as 2014.

Should you need more information on this topic please do not hesitate to contact us.

Keep in touch with us
Send us a message

Enter the code shown:

Where we are

Camilleri Preziosi

Level 3, Valletta Buildings

South Street

Valletta, VLT 1103


footerPhone (+356) 2123 8989